How To Factory Reset Your MacBook- Best Ways 2021

How To Factory Reset Your MacBook?

MacBook is traditionally known for its longevity and Apple releases free software updates, which makes older models appear to be new again. As a result, the MacBook tend to retain their value within the resale marketplace for much longer than other PC laptops.

Apple recently released new MacBook models using the company’s custom M1 chip whereas previous models use Intel processors. This alteration may be a major shift within the industry as most laptops will still use Intel chips, but Apple is providing an alternate that will set a replacement standard if the newest MacBook models prove to be successful.

Of course, with new MacBook laptops, and with an all-new chip inside, many current owners could be looking to sell or trade-in their current version and upgrade. Before moving on, owners should undertake some general maintenance, including factory resetting the MacBook.

A detailed guide to factory reset MacBook

The first thing you should do is to reboot the MacBook into macOS Recovery mode. After restarting your Mac, immediately hold down the Command and R keys while the laptop is popping on or restarting. Still, hold down the 2 keys until the Apple logo or another image appears. After the macOS utility window (it may be other scenarios based on the macOS you are using) appears, select Disk Utility and click on Continue.

The first option within the sidebar should be labelled Macintosh HD, which is that the built-in start-up disk for the MacBook. Select this feature followed by Erase. make sure the format is either APFS or Mac OS Extended (Journaled) then click Erase Volume Group or Erase, counting on what’s shown.

Once the method is complete, quit Disk Utility to return to the macOS utility window and choose Reinstall macOS. After the installation is complete, the MacBook will restart to the initial setup window, so that the subsequent owner can set it up.

Things to do before factory reset

Before the factory reset the MacBook, one of the most important things to do is to back up your previous data. You can either do it with Time Machine, or you can manually make a copy of your data. Besides backing up, here are things you should do before resetting your MacBook to factory resetting. sign out of iTunes, iCloud, and iMessage.

To sign out of iTunes

The MacBook running on macOS Mojave or earlier can sign out of iTunes by opening the app and selecting Account from the menu bar at the highest of the screen. Hover over Authorizations then click Deauthorize This Computer. Now, enter the Apple ID and Password and click on Deauthorize.

To sign out of iCloud

To sign out of iCloud, click the Apple logo within the top-left of the screen, select System Preferences, click on iCloud and eventually, Sign Out. Signing out of iCloud for MacBookrunning on macOS Catalina or later is slightly different. After reaching the System Preferences window using equivalent steps, click Apple ID then Overview from the sidebar followed by Sign Out.

To sign out of iMessage

MacBook running on OS X cougar or later have an equivalent step for signing out of iMessage, Simply, open the Messages app, select Messages followed by Preferences within the menu bar, then select iMessage and click on Sign Out.

Reset NVRAM

The owner can optionally reset the nonvolatile random-access memory (NVRAM). The NVRAM is the memory to store certain settings, like sound volume and display resolution. To reset the NVRAM, simply hold down the choice, Command, P, and R keys for 20 seconds during startup.

Unpair Bluetooth devices

Unpairing Bluetooth devices also can help prevent accidental input for times when the present and new owners of the MacBook are within Bluetooth range. To unpair a Bluetooth device, click the Apple logo and choose System Preferences, then Bluetooth, and hover over the device name before clicking the X button to get rid of the device.

Leave a Comment

close